Josh Inglis earns call-up and key names return in Australia’s T20 World Cup squad

Pat Cummins is back as part of Australia’s bowling attack © Associated Press

All Australia’s first-choice players who missed the recent tours of West Indies and Bangladesh have returned for the T20 World Cup in the UAE while Josh Inglis has earned a maiden call-up. Aaron Finch, who is currently recovering from knee surgery, will lead a squad that includes David Warner, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins and Kane Richardson.

Mitchell Swepson has secured his spot as the third frontline spinner behind Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar. Inglis, who had a prolific domestic season in 2020-21 and has followed that with strong returns for Leicestershire in the county season, has jumped ahead of Alex Carey as the back-up wicketkeeper and a utility batter.

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts,” chairman of selectors George Bailey said. “He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Western Australia and Perth Scorchers quick Jhye Richardson, who was another to opt out of the tours, has not been included while fringe allrounder Daniel Sams is among the three reserve players who will travel with the squad.

Dan Christian, who will be at the IPL ahead of the World Cup, is also among the back-up players alongside Nathan Ellis who took a hat-trick on debut against Bangladesh. Those players can only be used if someone from the original 15 is ruled out of the tournament through injury or illness.

Australia have lost their last five T20I series having previously climbed to No. 1 in the rankings in early 2020 although for the last three of those contests – against New Zealand, West Indies and Bangladesh – have not been able to field their strongest side.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament,” Bailey said. “We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 sides in the world.”

Squad Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Inglis

Travelling reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams

More to follow

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

About Daily Multan

Check Also

Dawid Malan hits 98 not out as unbeaten Trent Rockets gun down 190 target

Trent Rockets 193 for 2 (Malan 98*, Hales 38, Kohler-Cadmore 30) beat Manchester Originals 189 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.