NA speaker bans seven lawmakers for ‘disorderly’ behaviour | The Express Tribune


Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser on Wednesday barred seven lawmakers, from both sides of the aisle, for creating a ruckus and behaviour deemed “unparliamentary”.

The decision by Qaiser comes a day after lawmakers from both the government and the opposition used foul language and threw copies of this year’s federal budget at each other during the speech by Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif.

Three of the banned parliamentarians are from the ruling Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

The NA speaker said that the lawmakers have been barred from entering the House as their behaviour was “unparliamentary” and “inappropriate”.

Read: Public disbelief as NA descends into rumpus

He also shared a picture of the order on his official Twitter handle which read, “… the conduct of the following Members of the National Assembly was grossly disorderly as they violated the rules and despite repeated direction of the Chair, they interrupted proceedings of the House”.

The barred lawmakers are Ali Gohar Khan (PML-N), Chaudhary Hamid Hameed (PML-N), Sheikh Rohale Asghar (PML-N), Faheem Khan (PTI), Abdul Majeed Khan (PTI), Ali Nawaz Awan (PTI) and Syed Agha Rafiullah (PPP).

Earlier in the day, the speaker met Prime Minister Imran Khan during which the country’s political situation and the ruckus during yesterday’s session came under discussion. He added that the premier was informed about the incident, adding that those who had violated the sanctity of the House would be punished.

Apart from the violence that took place in the National Assembly yesterday, concern were expressed over the use of foul language.

Sources said that before the meeting between the prime minister and the speaker, an inquiry meeting was also held in the Parliament House under the chairmanship of Qaiser, in which the deputy speaker and the secretary of the National Assembly were present.

Read more: Ruckus in Sindh Assembly over water scarcity

A committee headed by Qaiser completed the inquiry in which it was decided that members who used vulgar language on Tuesday would not be allowed to attend the session. Among those rioting at the session were government ministers and senior members.

The NA speaker further said that action would be taken against those violating the sanctity of the House without any discrimination.

Source link

About Daily Multan

Check Also

PM Imran leaves for tow-day visit to Tajikistan | The Express Tribune

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan departed for Dushanbe on Thursday for a two-day official visit …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.