PML-N wins Punjab’s Khanewal by-poll | The Express Tribune

The Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) won by-poll in Punjab’s Khanewal (PP-206) constituency after defeating its main rival the ruling PTI.

According to the unofficial and unconfirmed results of all 185 polling stations issued on Thursday, PML-N’s Rana Saleem secured 47,985 votes while PTI’s Noorin Nishat Daha came second with 33,875.

PPP candidate Syed Wasiq secured 15, 233 votes.

The seat fell vacant following the death of PML-N’s MPA Nishat Ahmed Daha.

The polling in the constituency started at 8:00am and continued until 5:00pm without any interruption.

The ruling PTI had fielded the widow of late PML-N lawmaker Noorin Nishat Daha.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had set up 185 polling stations where 13 candidates were competing.

The police and Rangers were also deployed in the constituency to maintain law and order during the polling.

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif while congratulating the party workers on winning by-election said, “Khanewal’s election is a recognition of PML-N’s public service in South Punjab”.

“I thank and commend the hard work of party leaders and workers,” he added.

PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz also felicitated the party workers, saying: “Nawaz Sharif [former prime minister] name is enough”.


Source link

About Daily Multan

Check Also

اسلحہ کے ساتھ گرفتار شخص کے پی محکمہ صحت کا ملازم ہے، رانا ثناء

فوٹو فائل وزیر داخلہ رانا ثناء اللّٰہ نے پی ٹی آئی جلسے میں پستول لے …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.