UAE bat; Netherlands include Vikramjit Singh, Tim Pringle

Toss UAE chose to bat vs Netherlands

UAE chose to bat in the evening Group A game in Geelong, with captain CP Rizwan suggesting it could be “slightly tougher to chase the way the first match turned out”.

Netherlands captain Scott Edwards was keen to chase, greeting Rizwan’s decision with: “Happy days.” Netherlands lost all three of their games at this stage of last year’s T20 World Cup, but did beat UAE when the teams met in the 2014 tournament.

Netherlands have plenty of experience in their XI, with Tom Cooper and Colin Ackermann in the middle order and Roelof van der Merwe leading spin duties. Bas de Leede is carded to bat at No. 3, while Vikramjit Singh and Tim Pringle make their first World Cup appearances.

UAE stuck with a settled top order, with Vriitya Aravind batting behind established openers Chirag Suri and Muhammad Waseem. There was no spot for former captain Ahmed Raza, the only survivor from their 2014 campaign. They also picked Aayan Khan in their XI; and at 16 years and 355 days, he became the youngest to play in a men’s T20 World Cup.

Netherlands: 1 Max O’Dowd, 2 Vikramjit Singh, 3 Bas de Leede, 4 Tom Cooper, 5 Colin Ackermann, 6 Scott Edwards (capt/wk), 7 Roelof van der Merwe, 8 Tim Pringle, 9 Logan van Beek, 10 Fred Klaassen, 11 Paul van Meekeren

UAE 1 Chirag Suri, 2 Muhammad Waseem, 3 Vriitya Aravind (wk), 4 CP Rizwan (capt), 5 Basil Hameed, 6 Zawar Farid, 7 Aayan Afzal Khan, 8 Kashif Daud, 9 Karthik Meiyappan, 10 Zahoor Khan, 11 Junaid Siddique

Source link

About Daily Multan

Check Also

Rohit on the ODI World Cup: We can’t think so far ahead

As per the ICC’S Future Tours Programme, India have six bilateral series – including the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *